Captain’s log: #ocTEL day two.

Badges

I forgot to display my first badge yesterday:

Image

I received this for just being there. Awesome!

Reflection on 0.1 Big and Little Questions Forum

I made a post about how we make things big problems when they needn’t be. I commented on a previous post asking about terminology and what the difference is. I was hoping that my post would stop needless categorisation and trying to define and solve the big problem. It didn’t achieve that at all and it feels like the post was ignored. The forum has now burst out into a number of different directions. My problem no0w is having made the effort to try and stop problem, problem, problem think I have trouble rejoining the conversation that has effectively dismissed that comment.

So hello my friend blog 🙂

0.1 Task: Please reflect on your work experience and ambitions for developing your teaching.

Can you identify the most important question about TEL that matters to you?

I am a TEL Adviser. I have been doing this job for over 10 years and I still don’t understand why there is such reluctance to use technology. How do we get folk to recognise this is just another tool like a whiteboard or a flipchart or a pen or a book or even a slate.I am not saying everyone should use technology all of the time, but there is a lot of total rejection of technology.

I have seen individuals who work as hard or harder than other staff, who have a great research proifile and a great teching profile. They use technology as appropriate. I don’t understand then why this can’t be replicated by others. I think seeking answers to that question and an opportunity to try out some of the questions around this is what I want to get out of #ocTEL.

Reflecting on the conversation

The continuous conversation about pedagogy being the driver has, of course, emerged. For me this is old and tired and never changed anything. We need a new conversation.

The conversation has covered how technology can allow different things to be done and the SAMR model was offered. https://sites.google.com/a/msad60.org/technology-is-learning/samr-model. Again this isn’t new and although people will generally agree to this, but again they haven’t redefined their practice.

Using technology to increase participation inside and outside of the class is an interesting one. Massification has caused problems here. Technology offers a way for both monitoring large student groups, but for me the real potential is using the technology for a return to the common room. A common room brought together students at every level and masters in their liesure time. In this environment many educational debates could take place. Alongside this I like the idea of the studio or the lab as a place where students meet and share their work in a more meritocratic environment. I’m not old enough to have benefitted from such a system, but I am old enough to have avoide the massive growth in student numbers.

The conversation about platforms sound like the VLE is Dead debate. Again old and of no impact on ordinary teaching staff who never even learnt how to use the VLE.

I realise that I am beginning to sound very miserable about these things, but they haven’t helped no matter how well intentioned the propents are TEL has failed to be widely adopted and has failed to make a compelling argument for its adoption by most teaching staff. I could say at my institution, but I know from others that we are far from alone.

Digital literacy has made a couple of appearances in the conversation. What I think is missing in this conversation is not whether technology should only be used where it does enhance (old practices?), but where technology might be used, because it is 2014 and whatever they study our learners need to be digitally literate to survive.

One interesting shjift in the conversation, or was it just a ripple? was about learners taking ownership of their own learning. (and how can technology help that).I would refocus this. What does it mean to be a learner in 2014. What does a University add to that, either F2F or via remote connection? What is the role of a teacher, if you want students to take ownership do staff have to give that up? That isn’t the way they were taught. Again this is old, but increasingly I am feeling we have become disconnected from reality. Our library has over 1 million books, hurrah! Most are not read at all. One million hits on Google doesn’t surprise anyone. Before that gets you going I understand the difference between information and knowledge.

I love the problem being defined by some in the forum as ‘technology is always changing’. Yes it is. How often do people change their phone, their car or apps on their tablet? Change happens, live with it, embrace it.

I feel very ranty.

Nanoo nanoo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

